Rail Transport Committee Maghreb (CTFM)

Création du CTFM

The Maghreb Rail Transport Committee (CTFM) was created on November 11, 1965 under the auspices of the Permanent Consultative Committee of the Maghreb (CPCM). The convention relative to its creation was published in Algeria by Decree N ° 68 – 63 of March 08, 1968, in Morocco by Dahir N ° 374 – 68 of November 11, 1968, in Tunisia by Decree N ° 68 – 159 of June 11, 1968 .

Initially, the CTFM consisted of networks:

  • ONCF – Morocco
  • SNCFT – Tunisia
  • SNTF – Algeria

At its extraordinary meeting in May 1990, the CTFM was extended to two other Maghreb networks:

  • RAPCO – Libya
  • SNIM – Mauritania

Message from CTFM Chair

CTFM missions

The CTFM is responsible for dealing with and studying all issues of common interest, for coordinating and initiating actions likely to improve and / or develop rail transport in the Maghreb countries.

The CTFM’s competence also extends to matters concerning the unification and improvement of the operating conditions of the Maghreb networks and, in particular, to the joint adoption of the general technical and economic provisions relating to the co-ordination and harmonization of rail transport in the Maghreb countries both in terms of the equipment used and the operating rules as well as in terms of personnel management and training.

The CTFM is also responsible for studying and setting up a Maghreb high-speed train (TGVM) linking Tripoli to Casablanca, via Algiers and Tunis, in parallel with the improvement of Transmaghrébin’s services.

Treat and study any matter of common interest.
Coordinate and initiate any action likely to improve and / or develop rail transport in the Maghreb countries.
Unify and improve the conditions of Exploitation of Maghreb networks.
Adopt, jointly, the general technical and economic provisions relating to the coordination and harmonization of rail transport in the Maghreb countries.
These provisions concern:
the material used,
operating rules,
personnel management,
staff training
Study and set up a high speed train (TGVM) connecting Tripoli to Casablanca via Algiers and Tunis, along with the improvement of the services of Transmaghrébin.
Link Toubrouk in Nouakchott to the current network.

Organization of the CTFM

In accordance with the convention which governs it, the CTFM meets in ordinary session twice a year and in extraordinary meeting as many times as necessary at the request of the Maghreb member railway networks.

Attend the CTFM plenary meeting the President, the Directors General and CEOs of the Maghreb member railways of the CTFM or their representatives duly authorized by them, as well as the members of the CTFM Preparatory Commission.

The CTFM chairmanship is rotated for a period of one year to each member network of this committee.

For the year 2018/2019, the Chairmanship of the CTFM is entrusted to the Mauritanian network (SNIM) represented in the person of its Director General Director.

It will be entrusted for the year 2019/2020 to the Moroccan rail network (ONCF).

Five specialized commissions:

Composed of a representative of each member Maghreb network.

Infrastructure Committee – Security and Safety -: Chaired by the Algerian network (SNTF)
Freight and Logistics Commission: Chaired by the Moroccan network (ONCF)
Passenger Commission: Chaired by the Tunisian network (SNCFT)
Commission Support: Chaired by the Permanent Secretary of the CTFM

CTFM Bodies

The CTFM is currently composed of the following organs:

A Permanent Secretariat
whose seat is set by the texts in Algiers (SNTF) responsible for ensuring:

Coordination between networks of CTFM activities.

Follow-up of the implementation of the decisions taken during the meetings.

The preparation and the convocations to ordinary and extraordinary meetings.

The preparation and presentation of the annual activity report.

Central Maghreb Compensation Office (BCCM)
Created in 1968 and governed by a legislative text, the main mission of the BCCM is the settlement of the balances of the cleared accounts resulting from passenger and inter-network traffic.

Its headquarters are in Algiers (SNTF). This organization, which enjoys a civil personality, is therefore primarily responsible for managing inter-network financial flows.

A wagon office
Governed by an agreement between the three networks of November 1968.

Its headquarters are in Algiers (SNTF). Its main mission is to manage the inter-penetration operations of railway equipment between the three countries: Algeria – Tunisia – Morocco and to notify the BCCM of these accounts for compensation.

How CTFM works

The implementation of decisions and / or the initiation of actions likely to improve or develop services by rail is handled by the CTFM by:

A Preparatory Commission:
Composed of the Permanent Secretary of the CTFM, the Head of the BCCM and permanent members of each Maghreb Member network.

It meets the day before the CTFM plenary meeting and at the same venue.

Four specialized commissions:
Composed of a representative of each member Maghreb network.

Infrastructure and Security Committee
Freight and Logistics
Human ressources

CTFM actions

The main action of the CTFM remains:

The improvement of the delivery of the Transmaghrebin linking Tunis to Casablanca via Algiers in conditions of time, comfort and security acceptable.

In this regard, he was selected:

As a first step, reduce the travel time from 48 hours to 30 hours between Casablanca and Tunis.

In the second stage, reduce the journey time to 25 hours.

This objective is subordinated to the realization of the modernization works of the existing infrastructures in particular:

Strengthening the existing Infrastructure
Doubling the Way on the saturated sections
Renewal of the current Way
Improvement of low radius tracks
Modernization of the Stations
Modernization of Signage – Telecommunications
Acquisition of rolling stock
In the third stage, reduce the journey time to 8 hours.

Maghreb networks have agreed on the prospect of studying a Maghreb High Speed ​​Train (TGVM) linking Tripoli to Casablanca via Tunis and Algiers.